International News

ICC Cricket T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule announced, Groups and Fixtures

Written by admin

ICC Cricket T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule:

The groups and fixtures for ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 were announced today (December 11) in Mumbai. Former champions India and Pakistan are in the same pool. Hosts India open campaign against New Zealand on March 15 in Nagpur.

The ICC World Twenty20 2016 will be staged across eight venues in India from March 8 to April 3. A total of 58 tournament matches, including 35 men’s and 23 women’s, will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi. New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on March 30 and 31 respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue for April 3 finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals. The men’s event will carry a total prize-money of $5.6million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize-money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.

ICC-T20-World-Cup-Trophy 2016 cup

Men’s group:

First Round:

Note: Group Winners will progress to the Second round

Group A:

Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, Oman

Group B:

Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong, Afghanistan

icic group image1

Second Round Groups(Super10):

Group 1:

Srilanka, South Africa, West Indies, England, Winner from Group B

Group 2:

India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, Winner from Group A

icic groups image2

Women’s Groups:

icic women's group1

Indian Cricket Team Schedule Men’s:

March 15 | NZ v IND, Nagpur
March 19 | IND v PAK, Dharamsala
March 23 | IND v Q1A, Bengaluru
March 27 | IND v AUS, Mohali

March 30 | Semis | 2nd in Group 1 v 1st in Group 2, New Delhi
March 31 | Semis | 1st in Group 1 v 2nd in Group 2, Mumbai

April 3 | Final, Kolkata


Indian Cricket Team Schedule Women’s:

March 15 | IND v BAN, Bengaluru
March 19 | IND v PAK, New Delhi
March 22 | ENG v IND, Dharamsala
March 27 | WI v IND, Mohali

March 30 | Semis | 2nd in Group A v 1st in Group B, New Delhi
March 31 | Semis | 1st in Group A v 2nd in Group B, Mumbai

April 3 | Final, Kolkata


Past winners of ICC World Cup T20:

 2007 – India beat Pakistan by 5 runs in final (Hosts South Africa) 

2009 – Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in final (England) 

2010 – England beat Australia by 7 wickets in final (West Indies) 

2012 – West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs in final (Sri Lanka) 

2014 – Sri Lanka beat India by 6 wickets in final (Bangladesh)



About the author


Leave a Comment

View My Stats